The Accidental Insect

Imagine my surprise when I saw him right before I deleted the file – Look how tiny! (If I’d known he was there, I might have been able to get him more in focus.)

This is the pollen on a stalk of grass going to seed. Each tiny flower, each bit of pollen, is the size of a coffee ground, or smaller. I shot it against the end of my index finger, to give you a sense of scale.

So you can understand how

This is how tiny the flowering bodies and pollen on grass are, in comparison to my index fingertip. It's not surprising I almost didn't see the tiny flying insect perching there.

This is how tiny the flowering bodies and pollen on grass are, in comparison to my index fingertip. It’s not surprising I almost didn’t see the tiny flying insect perching there.

I nearly didn’t see the tiny winged insect there among the minute flowers before I deleted this file, which was an accidental shutter release.

Do you see it?

I had no idea when I was reviewing my photos (some of them mere accidental shots) that there was a TINY little winged insect here.

I had no idea when I was reviewing my photos (some of them mere accidental shots) that there was a TINY little winged insect here.

Leave a Reply

